Global WindowNewsPolitics



Russia has banned entry to British Prime Minister Boris Johnson and several other top officials after the United Kingdom imposed sanctions on Russia over its military operation in Ukraine.

“This step was taken as a response to London’s unbridled information and political campaign aimed at isolating Russia internationally, creating conditions for restricting our country and strangling the domestic economy,” Russia’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs said in a statement on Saturday.

The ministry accused the UK government of “unprecedented hostile actions”, in particular referring to sanctions on Russia’s senior officials.

“The British leadership is deliberately aggravating the situation surrounding Ukraine, pumping the Kyiv regime with lethal weapons and coordinating similar efforts on the behalf of NATO,” the ministry said. adding that it would expand the list soon. Russia has already barred US President Joe Biden and a string of other US officials from entering the country.

The UK has been part of an international effort to punish Russia with asset freezes, travel bans and economic sanctions since President Vladimir Putin moved troops into Ukraine on February 24.

Russia’s entry blacklist includes :

  • Prime Minister Boris Johnson
  • Foreign Secretary Liz Truss
  • Defence Secretary Ben Wallace
  • Deputy Prime Minister, Lord Chancellor, and Secretary of State for Justice Dominic Raab
  • Secretary of State for Transport Grant Shapps
  • Home Secretary Priti Patel
  • The Chancellor Rishi Sunak
  • Minister for Entrepreneurship, Energy and Industrial Strategy Kwasi Kwarteng
  • Minister for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport Nadine Dorries
  • Minister for the Armed Forces James Heappey
  • First Minister of Scotland Nicola Sturgeon
  • Attorney General for England and Wales and advocate general for Northern Ireland Suella Braverman
  • Conservative MP and former British Prime Minister Theresa May

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button